Running Redux

I grew up hating running. It was never my thing. Back in 2000 I decided to change that and become a runner. I signed up for the AIDS Marathon training program in Washington, DC to spend six months training for a marathon and raising money. It’s pretty amazing that I actually finished the race. I’m not going to share my time because it was really, really slow. But I finished. And then I kind of gave up running again.

During my initial running phase I was plagued by shin splints and discouraged by the fact that I never really got faster. Because I was so busy adding miles week after week, I never progressed beyond my run/walk pace of 1min run/2 min walk. I was a 15-minute miler, which I could have outpaced just by walking. And after the marathon I didn’t really know how to go back and improve on my running.

Fast forward two years, then two more, then another two or three and I kept starting to run and then failing miserably. But now? I’ve decided to give it another try. For at least six months now (if not longer), I’ve been aware of the Couch to 5K program. I even downloaded the app to my phone several months ago. In October I bought a used treadmill and set it up in my dining room.

Just last week I finally got on the treadmill. To walk. I walked a couple times on it last week and earlier this week and then last night… I did Week 1, Day 1 of C25K.

It was a rough start. I did my 5 minutes of brisk walking to warm up. Then I did my first 60-sec run, then started the first 90-sec walk. Then I hit stop and went and plopped down on the couch. I sat there for about five minutes while the treadmill mocked me with whispers of  “Quitter!” and “Pathetic!” Then I went back into the dining room, resumed the workout, and made myself finish.

After, I managed to take both dogs for separate walks which ended in my logging almost 5 miles of distance total. I’m working on a 100 miles in March challenge (30 of it to be on cross-country skis), and I’m doing okay with dog walks and skiing, but the running should definitely help me hit my goal.

Day 2 will be tomorrow. Will I get quit 7.5 minutes in again? Or will I make it to 8 minutes? 😉

Leave a Reply

